Different.

1 04 2013

Two *very* different rides. I will be putting a proper write up, for what it is worth, on the VC Moulin blog shortly, but in the meantime, here is a summary of my experience at the Red Bull Hillchasers event this last saturday in Edinburgh.

At 4.37am, I rolled reluctantly out of bed, caffeine was mainlined and I jumped in the car for the hour long drive eastwards. I parked just west of the city centre for convenience and because a few of us had planned a brief pedal around Stoorie Brae (where I cut my teeth from an mtb perspective 25 years ago, now). My start time was 7am and I was to report at 6.45am to the start desk at the bottom of Cockburn street. Needless to say it was brass monkeys and the rather shambolic set up with a scruffy group of riders gathered around, jumping and running on the spot was a little off putting. All too soon, I lined my trusty IF cross bike (sporting metropolis bars and a 39:18 gear I had fitted the day before) on the start line and then with little more than a ‘go when ready’ I took off. Vrrrap! went my tyre as it struggled for purchase on the still frosty cobbles, but I lost almost zero time. The gear was perfect and it was only the deep cold in my leg muscles that led to me tying up as I approached the Royal Mile and the finish line. My time of 23.222 seconds put me 1 place outside the reserve list for the final event. To be honest I was not expecting too much! so I was quite happy to bail, head up Stoorie B with the crew and mess around in the woods.

Today, I headed out through Mugdock to Dumgoyne. I wanted to climb it from the west side, where there is a farm/access road of sorts. It was fine until I approached the snow line. At this stage, there was a fair bit of pushing, despite the Krampus’ fat tyres. The wind was high and I suspect this is why Dumgoyne was devoid of snow. Over the top, the full extent of the wind was felt, but the descent is rapid, if boggy in places. A good way to spend April the 1st, no fooling.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 04 2013
Chris

DrJon, great blog site & fab photography, waiting for some feedback on the Krampus…!! .especially the knard. Have a Knard/Rabbit hole ready to build up for the front of my Jones/135 Truss..? Chris

7 05 2014
engineers

Hello there, just became aledt too your blog
through Google, and found that it is really informative.
I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if
you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

