Blue dot junkie.

23 06 2013

I am sure that some of youse guys will know what the term in the title of this post refers to: the Tour Divide.

Over the years, I have followed the Tour Divide and Great Divide Race, usually on MTB Cast and bikepacking.net. Sometimes with all-hours-of-the-day obsession (when Jenn or Ollie were riding, for example), sometimes with a slightly more distant, but no less interested, perspective.

I have no interest in doing this route as a time trial myself: there are far too many areas with excellent riding I would bypass, close by as I turned miles over on relatively less interesting trail. It could easily form the back bone of a superb tour, though.

This year, I am again following more closely. Mike Hall, round the world record breaker, who has some fascinating gear info on his site, is in the lead – and on record pace – and a friend, James Olsen, bike designer and fellow Jones aficionado, is in 4th, making amazing progress.

It is also very interesting to see some of the bike set ups. Steve Puerzer kindly posted a gallery of bike images, here. Fascinating for a gear geek like myself.

So (dee dah dadeedadidda, dee dah dadeedadidda) I’ll be watching. Will you?

Actions

Information

One response

23 06 2013
Steven Shand

Can’t believe how well James is doing. He was up seeing us a couple of weeks before he left and it was only then I realised he was racing. He said to look out for him somewhere near the back! Liar!

Leave a Reply

