Two trips to Aviemore.

7 09 2014

Ugh! where does all the time go, eh? I have a huge backlog of things to say, from trips, rides and messing around with various bike parts to a review of the Mountain Laurel Design Cricket tent. I try to keep things in chronological order and no doubt as the skies darken and the winds and rains come, there will be plenty of time for blogging. Now, however, the sky is blue, the sun is still warm and I am enjoying being outside as much as possible – solo and with my family. All good.

A while ago now I had two different trips to Aviemore. For the first, I had a plan to clover leaf several rides from a base at the Rothiemurchas campsite. After arriving in the middle of the day, I wanted to take advantage of the warm sun and long day to head north on the Dava Way, essentially heading through the Ryvoan pass, then following (for the most part) an old rail line, to the coast at Forres. A blog I follow, Topofests, had described some sweet looking singletrack along side the river Findhorn. Unfortunately, I left too late in the day to cover the distance and see this. Another time.

My hombre Chris joined me for the next couple of rides. After the initial climb of the Burma road, we had a great time taking in this classic loop, but threw a curve in at the end and headed out to Burnside, railing some of the tight, woodsy singletrack. Awesome!

That left a classic Morlich/Badaguish loop for the last day – those trails always deliver a broad grin and are as challenging as you want them to be.

The next trip to Aviemore, a few weeks later, was with intentions of an evening preamble to find a decent camp, somewhere in the trees, followed by a big mountain ride the next day. The bags were packed and strapped to the bike, but the weather refused to play ball. The rain was sheeting down. Hardly conducive. Fortunately, I found a space at the Old Bridge Inn bunkhouse and planned a loop for the next day, up towards Ben Macdui, then round to Cairn Gorm and studied the topography of the various ridges and potential ways down over a fine meal and a dram.

The initial climb across Coire an Lochain and up onto the shoulder of Cairn Lochain started in fine weather, but became punctuated by squalls of rain and low cloud. It was clear the wind was strong but once I was up onto the plateau, 60kph sustained wind made the sleety rain sting and a ride around the cliffs edge towards Cairn Gorm a perilous proposition. With tail tucked firmly between my legs, I enjoyed the descent and the weather was far better below cloud level. I headed over to Abernethy forest instead, revelling in the warmth amongst the caledonian pine forest.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained – but sometime soon, I’d like to get that loop done.

Actions

Information

One response

8 09 2014
While Out Riding

Lovely… (Scottish singletrack… sigh).

Leave a Reply

