AHoy there…

13 08 2015

So, the other day I was in the Cairngorm, aiming to do a medium sized ride. My intention was to start by taking the access road past the Sugar bowl car park. About 9.30am, just as I was about to get to the end of the carpark to take the last section of road up to the ski centre, I interrupted a photographer. He was taking photos of a road rider, repeatedly taking the corner at the end of the car park. Interesting, thought I. “That looks comfy” said the man with the camera, referring to my Vertigo cycles fatbike; “it is” I replied.

As I took the corner, the road rider was waiting on the far side for a car to pass before taking another crack at getting the perfect shot. I couldn’t help but notice how well built he was. As in, in his black lycra, he was built like you imagine a super hero might be.

Interesting – not the usual skinny, avian-looking road bike model.

“Nice bike!” said the roadie, scanning the curves and fat tyres, “it is! said I.

Suddenly, it clicked: the rider was Chris Hoy, multi olympian and cycling ambassador. “Mr Hoy, how are you?” – “fine!” says he and takes off as the photographer called that the coast was clear.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

