The wheel deal.

22 06 2016

Well, I thought I’d share this set of images.

This is the Bontrager Barbegazi, at 20psi, on a Nextie 65mm external rim – 27.5×4.5 (770mm diameter and 115mm casing width, a few more knob to knob).

That’s big.

Compare to a fairly normal 29×2.2 MTN King.

Now, it is next to a Bontrager Chupacabra 29×3 (765mm diameter iirc).

Perhaps most interesting…next to a 26×4.5 Flowbeist (somethign like 745mm diameter – I think! might be 750mm)

As predicted, the Vertigo cycles fatty is a hoot with a 29+ front/27.5+ rear. I actually think it might be bad for my health. Just today alone, I crashed 3 times. Not because I lost traction, more because I was tackling obstacles at a greater speed than I am used to. As a result, I was landing closer to stumps, trees and other immovable objects than I am used to. Sometimes, too close! Interesting.

My curiosity will get the better of me though – I will pull the rear Chronicle in order to mount a Hodag so the bike will be more balanced when I put that Barbegazi on the front.

Oddly, the tape I use (3M 764) failed the first time I mounted the Barbegazi. The tape is 50mm wide so I did one wrap and then dry mounted the tyre, as I usually do, before addign sealant. In this case, the bead seemed to grab the tape on both sides and drag it apart, tearing it down the middle. I re-did it with a little sealant to lube the bead’s passage up the rim into the bead socket and it was golden. Live and learn.

Actions

Information

7 responses

23 06 2016
richdirector

a bit of beeswax on tyre edge when dry mounting works a treat as well

23 06 2016
velopest

nice! i’ll try that. anotehr reason to save the bees!

24 06 2016
Ross

Nice…one wee query Jon…you quote 665mm for the Bontrager Chupacabra 29×3…should that not be 765mm?

A 770mm diameter is very interesting. My 29+ LB with a 3.25 Bulldozer comes in at 773mm.

Will be following your thoughts with interest on how the 27.5+ & fat compare to 29+ & 26 fat. The Bontrager Barbegazi is 10mm taller than a 26×4.8 Bud on a 65mm rim…presumably your set up will be considerably lighter and nimbler?

24 06 2016
velopest

Argh! Typo! Thanks Ross- will defo report back

15 01 2017
HED rim repair. | drj0nswanderings

[…] have continued to ride the wheel, occasionally, but I also built up new wheels for the frame.  This allowed me to experiment with different wheel and tyre combinations and also […]

8 02 2017
ian t.

Interested to know your thoughts on using a Barbegazi 27.5×4.5 two nextie rims , either a) Black Eagle-II (65mm) or a newer b) Wild Dragon-II 85mm. The Black Eagle is lighter/cheaper & I think the one you’ve used but I’m wondering if your have any thoughts on option b) ???
Many thanks for your interesting blog posts …..

9 02 2017
velopest

for full on snow/sand id guess the 85mm though ive only used it on 65mm and that was still big and floaty – so if weight is a big deal it will still work. if you might choose between a 3.8 (3.5 in reality) type tyre as well, then 65mm. and thanks for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

