As the seasons ebb and flow.

24 09 2016

It is Autumn now. The daylight is retreating and the ground is becoming waterlogged and thick with fallen leaves.

I wanted to head towards the coast, for some reason. Lacking imagination for more interesting challenges, I took the Vertigo fatty, temporarily shod with plus wheels, to the Ardgarten loop.

It is not a particularly challenging loop, though the initial climb. westwards, followed by the climb up Glen Croe will keep your legs honest.

The trail over the Duke’s Pass is singletrack and at times offers a bit of challenge, particularly if it is as slimy on the rocks as I found it, but the views west are what took me there.

I probably ought to type something about my further exploration of plus tyres, as the fatty has allowed me to get time with a 27.5×4.5 a full 27.5×3 (on the rear) and 29×3 front and 27.5×3 rear. With interbike showing upcoming plus tyres from Maxxis that are on the knobblier end of the spectrum, *and* the growing 27.5×2.6 segment (which may well fit more 29″ bike rear ends), it is an exciting time.

Actions

Information

6 responses

24 09 2016
Vik

27.5 x 2.6″ tires will definitely fit more 29er rear ends, but also drop their BBs even more than the wider 27+ tires do.

I’m actually looking forward to purpose built 2.6″ frames for 27.5 and 29er tires. That width [without and compromises like a low BB] is quite appealing for day-to-day trail riding.

Hopefully we are talking real 2.6″ width and not Maxxis 2.6″ which is more like a real 2.4″ casing.

24 09 2016
velopest

definitely! I think 2.6″ may become the defacto ‘mtb’ tyre size…

as doe geo changes, you have a good point. though, as time goes by, I am beginning to prefer lower bb’s. maintaining a bigger front wheel means the drop, and slight slackening can be minimised and in some cases welcome. My Jones, which already has a lowish bb, was great with a Trailblazer rear – which was very much where I would expect a lot of 2.6 tyres to be, more or less?

1 10 2016
callumkellie

I think I over took you on the climb towards the Lecht? It was far passed the hump back bridge. You seemed to be making easy work of the steeper road sections on a fairly laden bike.

2 10 2016
velopest

hahaha! well, it didn’t *feel* as easy thats for sure! were you on the road bike? or in a car?

2 10 2016
callumkellie

In a car, passed a roadie on a red btwin just before you as well.

2 10 2016
velopest

I rode with that dude from just notth of Crathie…. it was cold and he was just in a T shirt. I peeled off at Corgarff to drop down to the Avon, but met him again in Tomintoul .. pretty rad!

Leave a Reply

