How to fit a DeWidget.

23 08 2017

Ok, how *I* fit a DeWidget – I am sure there are a number of ways!

First, you need some double sided velcro. This has a multitude of uses for the bikepacker. I usually keep a few wraps around bars and whatnot for use when out and about: temporary attachments; to insulate the frame or components from abrasion; tying down flyaway straps etc.

Anyhoo. You will need about 6-7cm 1cm wide and 7-8cm of 2cm wide. If you are struggling to find some, you can get it here. Search around for different widths and trim with scissors or a craft knife. In my experience it does not need ‘heat sealed’ on the edges.

Then, mount your top-tube bag to your frame, loosely, near it’s final desired position. Mount your DeWidget to the steerer.

1. thread the thin portion of velcro through the daisy chain on the front of the top-tube bag.

I then remount the foam spacer – I would recommend this if you have one.

2. mount the 2cm section of velcro to one side of your 1cm velcro.

3. fold the 1cm section back on itself, on top of the 2cm section.

4. thread the 2cm velcro through the slot on the DeWidget.

It doesn’t matter if the bottom section or top is longer…

5. attach the 2cm velcro to itself in a loop as tight as desired.

The velcro has inherent stiffness that helps keep the mounting absolutely solid, even if there is a fair distance between the bag and the stem – which may be desirable given stem hardware.

The other thought I had was to use a sternum strap split bar buckle and attach it to the daisy chain, thus presenting a ‘bar’ in ‘phase’ with the slot on the DeWidget, but velcro has worked so well I have never tried…

You can get them here, not very handy, but I have used this shop for many parts and materials for MYOG projects and can recommend them. I have not found the same buckles in the UK yet.


Actions

Information

3 responses

23 08 2017
Cycleofaddiction

Hi, are these available now? Great little gizmo, I’ve checked out the Bentley site but not seen them on there?

23 08 2017
velopest

the answer is ‘sort of’! Mark is making them, but I am selling them – in essence for cost at present. they are quite time consuming to make in order to get the top and bottom part precise and as such, Mark is putting a lot of effort into each batch. I hope to have anther batch at some point soon – if you are keen – fire me an email and i’ll add you to my ‘in turn’ email list once i get some? velopest@yahoo.com they are currently £10+ postage. if all of a sudden the triathlon crowd get into them, or mtb’ers realise that a top tube bag is the BEST way to carry some snacks for riding while getting less on your back, there is the possibility to get the tricky parts cnc’d with enough of a minimum order and then we might be going somewhere! cheers!

24 08 2017
Cycleofaddiction

Thanks, email sent 😉

Leave a comment