Maxxis Rekon 29×2.6″

29 01 2018

Yet another tyre size. Why oh why? whats the point? Blah blah blah.

I, for one, like all the different choices we now have in wheel and tyre sizes. You can really pick the one that works for you.

About 18 months ago, maybe longer, I built a front wheel for my trusty race bike – Maul – that could take advantage of 29+ tyres or fit a ‘wide trail’ tyre. I used an Enve fork so that offset could also be adjusted. I wanted to see how it all worked and figured the increased offset may work well with the bigger diameter wheel than the bike was designed for.

It was ok. The big tyre helped absorb some shock at the Wilderness 101, though I was still beaten up and with the release of the 29×3″ Minion series tyres, it gained preposterous front traction. To the stage where I had to replace the rear tyre with a Tomahawk, to get back some semblance of balance in terms of edge and cornering ability. Basically, with the Ikon I was using on the rear, or even the Ardent Race, the Minion wrote cheques the rear could not cash.

The geometry was always a little funky, though, and with the news of the Rekon 29×2.6″ I figured that would be the sweet spot. It would also drop over 300g from the front wheel and still be a reasonably absorbent and grippy front.

Well, I have a few hours on it now and its pretty good. It *is* light at sub 800g, but it doesn’t seem too fragile so far. The edge holds up and it certainly rolls fast.

I have 16 psi in it at present and doubt I want to go much lower.

It is in no way a plus tyre. That much is immediately obvious. The volume is just not great enough to make it behave in the way I have come to love with plus tyres in general.

The bike is back to its snappy, light, xc orientated ride and I’m happy about that.

As part of the project, I built a new Junglefox II 45mm internal rim onto a 100mm front hub. I have a notion to try the Minion DHF 29×3″ on the front of BA using an Enve fork. I feel that a ~50mm rim is ideal for true 3″ tyres. The bike is designed around a 120mm travel fork and normal 29×2.3″ wheel, so it might be just a wee bit steep at the front. We’ll see.

Interestingly, the build seemed much less tight than I am used to. Then it dawned on me that I hardly ever build with narrow OLD hubs any more! Still, 3x disk, 2x non, Sapim D lights and good balance and straightness should make for a decent wheel.


Actions

Information

12 responses

29 01 2018
dader

Did you try the Terrene McFly?

(I’ve heard the Minion DHR 29×3.0 as a front tire seems better than the DHF because it’s a bit quicker rolling..)

29 01 2018
velopest

Nope. Is that a 2.8? I’ll admit it takes a good bit of persuasion for me to not use a maxxis tyre… the tough sidewalks, excellent compounds and useful treads have me spoiled!

30 01 2018
dader

Yes that’s is a 2.8 a bit difficult to get in Europe I guess?
The Maxxis tires are great indeed.
I hope they make more 29×3.0 types and not only in 27,5!

30 01 2018
velopest

the more the merrier i say! not sure if Terrene are in the UK or not, though they have some dealers in europe i think? i’ve said it before and i’ll probably say it again, i’d LOVE a 29×3 (and a 27.5×3!) Tomahawk!

31 01 2018
Mick Rushton

Hi Jon
Any chance you could zap me a few dimensions? I’m making a plus frame for Stefano at Biciclista and need to try some options in CAD.
Basically after width, outside diameter and diameter at the widest bit.
Minion 3″ and Rekon 2.6″ on whatever rim you use.
Thanks

31 01 2018
velopest

i can get diameters v oon. width is 64mm tread and casing (both the same that is!) ill fire on diameter and diameter at max width over the next day or two?

31 01 2018
velopest

ooops! will get the diameters of the dhf too. width of that is full 75mm on a 40mm external rim at the tread.

31 01 2018
Mick Rushton

Cheers. No great hurry, just playing with options for threading chainstays around fat 29er tyres and a 73 shell. Might even do another e-stay (my 2011 one is now commuter bike and surprisingly refuses to break).

18 02 2018
velopest

righty – the 29×3 DHF on a 45mm internal junglefox rim is 773mm diameter with 78mm max width (tread and casing) at 30psi. it is 693mm at maximum width point. i’ll get the 29×2.6 shortly…

18 02 2018
velopest

maxxis rekon 29×2.6 on a 33mm internal nextie 40mm external rim 750mm diameter at 30 psi and 691mm and 65mm wide.

1 04 2018
Mick Rushton

Great – thanks for such a detailed reply!
Just waking this project up as I’m finally going to get some CAD time this week.
Also entering uncharted territory (for me) of carbon rims. Probably avoiding boost as we have nothing else in the household running that std.

2 04 2018
velopest

it is interesting. I have built a few wheels recently and it is clear to me that 100mm OLD front wheels are dead. even just the extra 10mm makes a massive difference and I would probably go wider if I had the choice. In the rear, I havent had a 135mm hub for a loooooong time (other than on my singlespeed that has 80mm between flanges) so thats no big deal… will be interested to see how your project progresses!

Leave a comment