Mopacka.

12 08 2018

Occasionally, I packraft. Sometimes, I don’t feel I need a full on PFD. They are bulky to carry and especially if I am crossing flat water, not far from shore and I have a bike with me, I have desired a less bulky solution.

Andrew Skurka – a champion of backcountry minimalism – had a near mythical vest made by Mountain Laurel Designs a number of years ago – the ‘Thing’ AKA the Mopacka.

There is a simple formula for working out how much floatation you need. It is surprisingly little. I need around 5 Litres to be buoyant.

That can be achieved with 2x2L and 1x1L Platypus bottles and I have been planning to sew a vest to keep them in for a number of months now.

While the rain tumbled down and I had a free afternoon, I decided to get after it.

The pattern was taken from my trusty M&S vest, some webbing of various sorts trimmed and the X pac and low denier cordura cut. Why that mix? the X pac will afford some water resistance, fwiw and the cordura will drain and dry fast whilst being tough enough to take stitches well.

The idea is more volume on your front so if you happen to loose concsiousness you float face up. It also helps when you are sitting with your back against the seat band of the Alpacka.

Soon enough I had a serviceable PFD. On trying it on, I had some redundant material under the arms so I went back and trimmed it off. Done, though of course, I had forgotten to attach the label and I couldn’t have that.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment